Destinysizemore's Blog

A Collection of My Grad School Adventure

“Dragons and Giants” from Frog and Toad Together June 5, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — destinysizemore @ 9:47 pm

http://www.teachingchildrenphilosophy.org/wiki/%22Dragons_and_Giants%22_from_Frog_and_Toad_Together

After reading the text to my students we held a group discussion that went a little like this:

Question 1: What does it mean to be brave?

Student 1: To do something really scary, something hard to do.

Student 2: To be brave you have to be tough and strong.

Student 3: I have been brave before, my mom said I was brave when I feel off my bike.

Teacher:  Frog says that trying to climb a mountain should tell him and Toad whether they are brave, do you think this is a good test for bravery?

Student 4: Yes, you have to be strong to climb a mountain.

Student 5: Climbing a mountain would be really scary.

Question 2:Have you ever done something really brave?

Student 1: Yes, I have ! I jumped off the diving board in the deep end of the pool

Teacher: Can you tell me why that was brave?

Student 1: Because the water is deep and I use to be scared to jump.

Student 2: I have been brave before, I broke my arm at school and my mom said that I was really brave.

Teacher: Yes, you were really brave, I remember when that happened and I was so proud of you. I know that your arm had to hurt really bad, but you let the nurses look at it and X-ray your arm even when it hurt to move it.

Student 3; My brother is brave, he has big muscles.

Teacher: Do you think you have to have big muscles to be brave?

Student 3: Maybe, you have to be strong

Questions 3: Were you scared when you did that brave thing?

There was a bit of silence so I, prompted more…

Teacher: When you  jumped off the diving board were you scared?

Student: Yes, I was scared but then it was fun so I did it again and again.

Teacher: When you broke your arm were you scared?

Student: Yes, it hurt and I didn’t know what was going to happen. I had to wait in the office for my mom to come and it was the end of the day. I was worried about my sister because she wouldn’t know why I wasn’t on the bus and then you came in with her and stayed till my mom got me. I got a pink cast at the doctor’s office and everyone signed it.

Teacher: Do we still think you have to have big muscles to be brave?

All Students: No

Teacher: Can you have big muscles and be brave as well?

All students:  Yes

Question 4: Do you think people can be brave and still scared when they do the brave thing?

Teacher: When the snake tries to eat Frog and Toad, they jump away and Toad starts shaking, was he still brave?

Student 1: Yes, because he kept climbing.

Teacher: Sometimes it is scary to be brave. Remember when we had our discussion about the kidnappers in the area? Well I think that it is very brave to scream and say no, even though you are scary.

Student 1: Yes, you told us to yell fire!

Student2: I would be scared, but I know you told us to yell fire so people would look and help.

Student 3: We yell fire because sometimes people don’t listen to kids yelling, they may think we are just playing.

Conclusion:

We have had a great discussion and found out that you can be brave even when you are scared of things. We also found out that anyone can be brave. I want you to look around and notice when you see brave things in either a story that we read or someone that you know. When we share morning news, you can tell us about the brave things that you have seen.

Teacher Thoughts:

I found this a very rewarding activity, I really found out new ideas about my students. It is a great way to compare and contrast, and to get the brain working. I also like the way that students wanted to add to the conversation. So many kids wanted to tell stories about a book they had read or something they had heard on the news. I like to have discussions in my classroom, so this was not a new process for the students but I found out a lot about what makes someone brave. I also think this is a topic that need to be addressed more in the classroom or at least in my classroom.

 

Leave a comment